Gem State Chronicle
Podcast of the Gem State Chronicle
Episode 23: American Elegy
2
0:00
-38:44

Episode 23: American Elegy

America's decline holds the seeds of America's revival
2

With the announcement today of Senator JD Vance of Ohio as Donald Trump's running mate, I decided to go back into the archives of my old podcast and pull out an episode I published about the status of the white working class in America. A lot of what I said at the time came out of reading Vance's book Hillbilly Elegy, about his life growing up in Kentucky and Ohio and the struggles of his people there. I thought it would be interesting to go back and remember what I thought then and compare it to where we find ourselves now.

As you listen, keep in mind that this was recorded more than two years ago, before Vance won his Senate race in Ohio.

2 Comments
Gem State Chronicle
Podcast of the Gem State Chronicle
News and analysis of issues important to Idaho as well as the country as a whole.